Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
connieinnd

Helpful hints, tips and tricks/crochet

nodakgal
15 years ago

Hi everyone, I am a new crocheter and came over to take a peek here. What a talented bunch you are! I am just a beginner and so far I'm now at the point where crocheting isn't "too" frustrating! LOL I'm doing a beginner blanket I found on Joanne's website and really having fun. This is the first project I haven't had to unravel and re do! LOL I tell everyone I am at pre-kindergarten level.

A GF asked me if I knew all the helpful hints for crocheting? She doesn't crochet or knit but said to take a clean pop bottle and put my yarn in it when working on a project. That is the only tip I know and don't really know why you are supposed to do that? LOL I assume the yarn would unravel easier for working?

Minnie at the KT and a few others were so patient and helpful when I was trying to teach myself to crochet and I thought I'd post here to see if anyone has any other helpful hints or tips and tricks to make crochet go easier.

Comments (3)

• flynflower
    15 years ago

This is a wonderful site for all kinds of knitting and crocheting help. I've been the receipient of a lot of help crocheting lately, for which I am very grateful . As for the clean pop bottle, that's a good idea, but how in the world do you get the yarn inside it unless you unravel it and put it through the top a little at a time and whoa , what a mess you would have. There are containers at Walmart that have a snap opening with a small hole in the top that does the same thing and they are not very expensive and they even have a handle. Happy crocheting!

• nodakgal
    Original Author
    15 years ago

This is what I found when I did a search for it.
    Whether it works or is worth the trouble I don't know.

Here is a link that might be useful: pop bottle yarn holder

• sheilajoyce_gw
    15 years ago