Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jacinda4crochet

yarn deciphering

jacinda4crochet
17 years ago

Hi,

This is my first time on this forum (actually any forum for crocheting as i've only just recently learnt, but so far i've made a baby blanket and 2 acorn hats.)

I live in australia ( and let me just say that the registration process does not allow australian zipcodes EVEN THOUGH it says to pick a country) but i'm crocheting from an american book called

"Simple crochet for cherished babies" by Jane Davies (or Davis, i can't remember).

Here in australia our wool is labelled by ply, and like my european friends this is what we are concerned with when we choose wool for a pattern. In Jane's book she asks for fingering weight wool, worsted weight wool and DK wool. I've read some of the other posts related to this topic and i've searched and googled a few other yarn company websites to try and find out the equivalent plys to these weights but I KEEP FINDING CONTRADICTING AND CONFUSING INFORMATION!!!!!!

If someone can PLEASE HELP ME i would like to know the american eqivalent to the following plys:

3 ply

4 ply

5 ply

7 ply

8 ply

10 ply

12 ply

Thank you in advance!

Comments (5)

• donna_loomis
    17 years ago

Jacinda, I'm afraid we're not going to be much help.

Ply refers to how many strands of yarn are twisted together to make a yarn, but there is no standard as to how thick each ply is. When I was a teenager and someone referred to 4 ply, you could be reasonably sure that meant worsted weight, but not anymore. We generally assumed that 2 ply was baby yarn, but that is not always the case either. Some bulky yarns are just 2 ply.

Possibly you could check Yarndex out and compare the yarn asked for in the pattern and see what the gauge for that yarn is. I think that will probably be the most help I can give you.

Here is a link that might be useful: Yarndex

• jacinda4crochet
    Original Author
    17 years ago