Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pawsitive_gw

Intro and knitting again

pawsitive_gw
13 years ago

I'll start by saying howdy. I am usually over at the KT, and I see some familiar "faces". I was going to post on the on the needles for February, but thought I'd start a new thread. I am a self taught knitter. I started spinning wool and dog hair and DH asked what the heck I was going to do with all the yarn. So, I had to learn ot knit. I purchased Jacqueline Fee's Sweater Workshop and dove in. Told DH if I had know how much math was involved, I'd have chucked everything. But I soldiered on and made the practice tube, graduated to a sweater and then took a class on knitting socks. I'm hooked! I made 2 pair for me, one pair for the grandson, started one pair for DH, but had to quit cause they wouldn't fit. I quit for 2 years, stuff got in the way, but when I had to take care of DH after his by-pass surgery, I needed something to do with my hands besides eat. I had bought some cool yarn a while ago, but just started another pair for me and ran out. So I started another pair and finished those and am now on my third pair. I have always loved odd socks and now I can make my own. I enjoy reading about all the different things people are making and hope to contribute and share as I get better. Cheers!

Comments (5)

• anne_b
    13 years ago

Welcome back to our craft! Yes, sock knitting is addictive. For the recipients, too - my daughter and SIL cannot get enough "mom socks"...which makes Christmas presents fairly easy.

Do you spin on a hand spindle or a wheel? I have always wanted to learn, and bought a simple hand spindle on a trip to Peru, but have never found the time to practice. As I get older, the days seem to race by and I have so much yarn in my stash already.

Back to the socks on my needles! I am going on a trip and need a new pair - the first one is almost done, the second one had better be done by Wednesday or my feet will be cold!

Anne B

• socks