Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suse17

Teaching Others to Crochet - or Self-Taught

suse17
18 years ago

I have been asked by some of my co-workers to teach them to crochet during our lunch hour. I am more than happy to do this, but I think I need a guide or reference material to work from. I found numerous sites on-line while searching under "Learn to Crochet" and a few under "Teaching Crochet."

Anyone have experience teaching crochet? Did you use any type of reference or handout? Anything you can particularly recommend using (or staying away from)?. Any helpful hints? I'll have a class of around 6, I think.

Or, maybe you learned on your own from a book or on-line site. What works?

Thanks for your input!

Susan

Comments (15)

• socks
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I learned from a book by myself. I taught a 9-year-old boy to crochet a year or so ago. His main problem was just clumsiness which would fix itself with practice.

It's important to know what the stitch looks like, to see and understand the parts.

It might help if you picked up a book so then when you are helping one person, the others could look in the book instead of just sitting and waiting. That way they get two kinds of teaching...from the book, and hands-on.

• grainlady_ks
    18 years ago

I've taught hundreds to crochet as a Master Crocheter. If you check with your County Extension Office, they may have have sheets that show all the stitches, and that's nice to have everyone using the same information. You can probably get these free from the Extension Office. Get instruction sheets for both left and right hand crocheting if they have them.

- Never use black, dark brown, or navy yarn for learning with. It's just very difficult to see to count stitches on dark yarn. I'd also avoid variegated or hombre yarns where the colors change.