Return to the Knitting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Ribbon Yarn Knit Scarf

Posted by ivamae (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 27, 13 at 16:42

Have any of you made these? They are really nice. If so, did you use the Red Heart Pattern and pick up in every other space or did you pick up in each one? Also did you use 4.5 mm needles? I got Red Heart yarn to try to make 3 . One each for my daughter, grand daughter and grand daughter-in-law. I hope they turn out all right. I have never done anything with ribbon yarn before.

Thanks in advance for any info you can give me.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Ribbon Yarn Knit Scarf

You can go every other, every third. Vary it. More spaces, the more ruffles. Needle size not really important.. They're easy, have fun.

o

Thanks so much for the reply. I'll try every other one on the first one and see how it goes. I presume that you don't mean to try them both in the one scarf.

Thanks again

o

I usually avoid the novelty yarns, but saw a gal making a scarf with the ribbon yarn while waiting to get my hair cut and thought it was beautiful. Had to make one, so picked up the gray/black/brown colorway. Just finished it and LOVE it. I used size 6US needles and knit into every space.

o

I'd love to see pictures of these. I think my daughter might like one.

Eileen

o

Well, I have started and have ripped out the first bit 3 times. I have about 5 or 6 inches done now. However, I'm not sure about it. The ones I saw were almost like a tube when finished and only about a couple of inches or two and a half across. This lady had used 8 stitches and in every other one. Red heart says 6. I can see when it is cast off that will look tube like but what about the end where I started. I can't see that is is going to be the same. More advice????

How wide was yours when you finished, knitting in every space, donna?