Return to the Knitting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Slipping stitches onto holder--do I break the yarn here?

Posted by laurietx8 (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 18, 09 at 0:35

I've crocheted for a long time and recently decided I WAS going to learn knitting too, so I'm a beginner. :-) I did a scarf and now I'm working on my first sweater (an Easy level Berrocco pattern). I did the two front sides first (smaller = less to rip out if I mess up), and they went pretty well. Now I just finished the back, except I'm not sure what to with the yarn.

It says "Bind off 5 sts at beg of the next 2 rows, then 5 sts at beg of the next 4 rows, end on WS. Sl remaining 35 sts onto holder for back neck."

So after binding off the first 5 stitches of the last row, I purled the rest of the row because I assumed I was supposed to finish that row. However, that means that at the end of the row, the yarn is still attached to the skein because I ended with "live" stitches, not bound off ones. What do I do with the end? Break it off and weave it in after doing the collar? I'm afraid it will work itself loose if I break it and leave it hanging there. Or (this just occurred to me) should I have ended the last row after binding off the first 5 stitches, cutting the yarn and pulling it through that last stitch?

The instructions for the collar don't say anything about using that yarn end from the back, so I figure I have to end it there on the back somehow...

Any help is appreciated! Thanks very much.

Here is a link that might be useful: Sweater pattern

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Slipping stitches onto holder--do I break the yarn here?

You were right to finish each row after the bound off stitches. This is what made the shoulder shaping. Feel free to cut the yarn after placing those live stitches on the holder. Just leave in enough (about 15") to weave in after you finish. Don't worry, they're not going to go anywhere. You're doing everything right.

o