Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dances_in_garden

What does this mean? Pattern, sock, help

dances_in_garden
18 years ago

Okay. Ruffled sock pattern. This is for the ruffle. The line in the pattern says:

K1. (yfwd) twice. *K5, slip 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th sts over first st, (yfwd) twice.

Question One:

I have never done a yarn forward before. Does it simply mean to throw the yarn over the needle once without actually knitting a stitch, or does it mean to make a knit stitch while holding the yarn in front rather than in back? In other words, "K1 yfwd twice"....does it mean to knit once then wrap the yarn around twice, or to knit two stitches holding the yarn in front?

Question Two:

K5. Slip 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th sts over first st. WHAT IN THE HECK DOES THAT MEAN? I have done a slip, knit, then pass the slipped stitched over the last knit and off right hand needle before, but nothing like this. What needle am I slipping these stitches from, and am I slipping them across to another needle or am I dropping them off?

Question 3: Pick up and knit stitches along the side of the heel flap.

I am assuming that I insert a single DPN (as a right needle) in the edge of the flap, yarn over, and draw the yarn through to stay on the right needle even though there is no left needle involved. Is this correct?

The rest of the pattern I can handle (now that I found the CORRECTED version from the publishers website LOL). I was so proud of myself for "getting" short rows, but I guess that was the least of my problems ;).

I found a single ball of coveted sock yarn, and tried what was supposed to be an easy pattern. I chose to skip the ruffle the first time, and was mostly done a sock when I realized there was a problem. Ripped back twice, got the same results, then discovered it was in the pattern itself. Now I am starting again, and want to do that ruffle!

I don't even wear socks, what makes me think I can KNIT them!!!!!!

Comments (5)

• ltfightr
    18 years ago