Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
broken wrist ???

Posted by pianolady2008 (My Page) on
Thu, Nov 4, 10 at 19:31

If any of you nice folks have ever broken your wrist, how long did it take for the swelling to go down? I fell 8 weeks ago, wore a cast for 5 weeks and now in physical therapy but still lots of swelling. 1st time I've had a broken bone and I'm almost 68 years old, so guess I'm pretty lucky. Just wondering how long this swelling will last and how long til I can use my arm without pain?
Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: broken wrist ???

I have no real experience but I have a friend that broke hers last winter and hers still swells a bit and hurts from time to time. She had surgery to put some type of hardware. Not sure if you are the same. I do know that it can be quite a long time for some bones to heal. Sorry, that was no real help for you.Good luck to you.

o

I broke mine, and had to have a plate put in. Very bad swelling after the surgery, but it went down.

I kept those gel ice packs around for when I needed them, plus I kept the hand elevated a lot. Even slept on it with a pillow.

It's been 4 years now, and no problem. I do have a wrist band, I put on when I use the weight machines at the gym.

Good luck with the healing process.

o

I had a son who broke his arm twice at different times, the last time was very close to his wrist, so much so that it gave a problem in getting it set straight. A week after the first setting, it had to be reset again.

We did not have much problem with swelling after the first week. The main problem was atrophying of muscles and bone from prolonged inactivity. Healing time for both breaks was 5 to 6 weeks. A big aggravation was itching under the cast.

o