Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Increased property taxes

Posted by kathsgrdn (My Page) on
Thu, Nov 15, 12 at 17:01

Again this year. My escrow is now higher and I owe it over $650! I have to pay this by January 1st. Has anyone ever had their home reassessed and therefore their taxes reduced? I'm wondering if this is worth attempting. I know a couple of years ago I was looking at comps in my neighborhood provided by a local real estate person. According to her it would be almost impossible to sell my home for what it is currently appraised at.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Increased property taxes

I think that's the way it is everywhere. I have no experience on getting your taxes lowered so I'll be curious to hear from the others. Just curious, what state do you live in?

o

Kentucky

o

We appealed our property tax increase several years ago. Your tax bill paperwork should include instructions how to appeal property tax increases, as well as deadlines because the appeal has to be filed by a certain date.

Even though you can appeal in writing, it's usually best to take the appeal to the tax assessor's office in person and talk to them. Some places make appointments, others operate on a walk-in basis. Prior to the appointment, I did a real estate search and printout of comparable home prices in our neighborhood to show that our appraisal far exceeded current market value

In our case, it turned out the original appraisal was too high and we'd been paying too much in taxes ever since we bought the house. They lowered the appraisal quite a bit, but they said they couldn't reimburse us for the several years we overpaid. So it would probably be in your best interest to appeal as soon as possible.

o

Was it just yours raised or did they reappraise the entire area. Did you do anything extra--even like painting ? Yes, I would take the bill to the tax office and ask them to explain the raise if none of the above happened.

o