Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
While you're chowing tomorrow, think of the less fortunate

Posted by cynic (My Page) on
Wed, Nov 21, 12 at 7:49

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: While you're chowing tomorrow, think of the less fortunate

I always think of those who are away or those who have no family to be with.

o

Thanksgiving always makes me feel a little guilty.

While it's nice to have a special day to remember all we have to be thankful for, I sometimes feel uncomfortable at all the food we consume in the name of a single day when so many others wouldn't get this much in a week.

o

Gospel Rescue Mission's "Housing Facility for Abused Women" is my charity of choice this year and I have been using coupons and taking advantage of sales for several months now. It's a great way to contribute, it's so greatly appreciated and by using the coupons and sales, it is affordable for us (retired and on a fixed income). I don't think I could enjoy my own Thanksgiving dinner if I had not helped to provide for those who cannot provide one for themselves.Sorry, I didn't mean to "preach". Happy Thanksgiving!

o

Also, remember many need fed beyond the holidays.

Shirley

o

Every year we give money to the LA Mission to feed the needy at both Thanksgiving and Christmas. Hubs and I are both state employees, and each year the state puts on a big food drive for the holidays, and we also give generously to that.

After all, "there but for the grace of God go I..."

o

There has been many times in the past we have had either neighbors, service personal, friends in and it has been a blessing everytime.
Here in Minot, our Air Base always sponsers a big dinner at the base for anyone who has no place to go, and bring in a couple of busloads, the people at the base prepare and serve and eat with others. Really lots of fun--so I have heard.

o