Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
compromised credit card

Posted by OklaMoni (My Page) on
Tue, Oct 15, 13 at 23:55

now what? I used it yesterday at a place, I have never used it before... the spa where I got my massage. I prepaid for another one, for right after Thanksgiving.

Not sure, how I can manage to go back...

Here is what happened:

It was used in Pennsylvania and in Oxnard California today, and NOT by me.

The credit card company texted me, and asked if these charges were mine. Well, the ones they asked about were mine.

I just finally got home, and online and checked, and found charges not made by me, and called them back.

The reason they contacted me was, the coast to coast charges.

Lucky, I guess. Now it is not valid anymore! Thus, the creeps can't buy anything else.

Thank goodness I have another card.

Would you go back for that massage?

Moni

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: compromised credit card

I would report it to the police.
There maybe something going on on the side. Or just an employee that is taking advantage of the customers.

Umm..I guess if it's a legit business..then the massage in November should be fine.

o

no I would NOT. I WOULD inform the spa of the circumstances, ask for a return of the pre-paid amount, and if they do not give you your money back, I would DISPUTE the charge for cause.

o

This has happened to us a few times. We were told it’s most likely someone you have given your card number to on line and they were hacked. Your bank will reverse the charges and send you a new card. Our also sent a statement we signed stating we did not use the card for these charges and sent back.

Call and make a fraud report with your local police and file a fraud alert with the credit reporting companies. If you follow the instruction on the page I linked they will pass it along to the other reporting companies.