Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Non meat eaters post here~~

Posted by YogaLady1948 (My Page) on
Fri, Oct 5, 12 at 19:08

What do you eat for protein? I saw on the post 'Name 3 things you won't eat' that 2-3 of you do not eat meat. I am new to the non meat eating world~~I eat cheese, tofu and what I call fake meat products. I want to get off them since they have a lot of things in them I no longer want to eat. Just curious what you all eat?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Non meat eaters post here~~

Beans and other legumes, and if you eat a lot of vegetables you'll get all the protein you need, especially greens. Tofu is good in moderation but cheese and fake meat products aren't really healthy sources of protein so it's great that you recognize that. Go for whole, plant-based food and you'll get everything you need. :)

Most people eat way too much protein than the body needs because we've been conditioned since childhood to eat meat/eggs three times a day. It's certainly not necessary and more and more studies are coming out about how unhealthy it is.

Some favorite meals of mine are Chipotle burrito bowls with brown rice, extra black beans, salsa, corn, guacamole and lettuce...tons of protein. I also like to make chili with a variety of beans and roasted corn and tomatoes. I make taco "meat" out of ground walnuts and sunflower seeds that is great on salads. Lentil soup. Nut butters have lots of protein. I can give you some more ideas if you're interested!

My personal recommendation is to stay away from dairy. I actually think it's more harmful than meat, but that's not a popular opinion with the general public. A lot of new vegetarians overload on the cheese.

o

Oh and edamame has a lot of protein in it. I try to keep my soy intake moderate but it's a whole source so I feel better about that.

o