Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Did something I have NEVER done before-what do you think?

Posted by marie-ndcal (My Page) on
Wed, Oct 24, 12 at 16:55

I received a really nice group of thought about taking care of our loved ones, telling them how much we love them etc. I thought --boy these are really good thoughts, and then the very last sentence cancelled everything. It was asking us to vote against a politician. That one thought to me destroyed the entire message. What was really annoying it came from a close dear relative. I responded back that the person they asked me to vote against, was also a family person and they did have a loving family and because I know many of these people who received and sent this message are very active in a church to me was was a lack of respect. Will see what happens now. So disappointed.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Did something I have NEVER done before-what do you think?

Marie, that is wrong in so many ways. Those things are so hurtful. I've been getting a lot of not so nice e-mails concerning politics. I just hit "Reply" and tell them not everyone agrees with their political view and please check Snopes before sending them. I also ask that they not send anything political to me. Hey, if it hurts their feelings, too bad. That's why I'm grateful this site doesn't allow it!!

o

I have a friend that sends political email, and most of them I can debunk and send her the Snopes thought on it. Last time I returned her message, with "I love you, but hate your politics" in bold red print.

o

If the candidate can't persuade you about his own character and policies he resorts to ATTACKING his opposition.

o

it's been a rough season this year...i think though, the worst was one where ms coulter called the president of the usa, a retard??? now not only was that offensive to the president, that term is sooo hurtful to anyone with a family memeber with disibilities..

o