Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Restaurant . com

Posted by katlan (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 31, 13 at 9:49

Anybody every use them? I got an email from ebates this morning saying the daily double today is restaurant . com if you order anything from them you get 30% cash back from ebates.

I've heard a little about them, but I have no experience with them.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Restaurant . com

I have used both successfully and unsuccessfully.
(read fine print carefully before you purchase, minumum purchases, hours, days of the week, etc.)

I often will get some before I go on a vacation and it has always worked out for me.

However a local pub has stopped honoring them and I still had about 4 left. They said they were losing too much money....I said I stood to lose money too. Told me to contact Restaurant.com for my money back.
I told them they lost me as a patron...haven't been back in almost a year.
I predict this particular place will be out of business soon for various reasons....

o

I leave several of the coupons at my lake house so guests can dine locally and not have to pay. I have no complaints at all. As long as you read the conditions, you'll be fine.

o

In my area, restaurant.com participation seems to be a tool of last resort used by unpopular restaurants or those on a downward slide trying to stay in business. Others jack their prices up and then offer discounts and deals (2 for 1), so it's good to know what restaurants participate so they can be avoided.

I don't want to eat at places I don't want to eat at, no matter what the price.

A better approach I've used is to buy "gift cards" that Costco sells at a discount for decent places (maybe $80 for a $100 gift card). Those can be very worthwhile.

o

What everyone else (except Snidely) said. Check the restrictions (days you can use it) and how much you have to spend to use the coupon.. I've had them for $5. off $10. or others that were $10. off $30.