Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Does Anyone Have a Second Floor Laundry?

Posted by marita40 (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 14, 09 at 13:30

(warning: offensive only in that I'm airing the fact I have dirty laundry)

This forum moves so quickly and is so helpful--far less so than the laundry forum. Does anyone have a washer/dryer on the second floor? I'm new to condo living and seeking to build a laundry nook with compact (probably Bosch) stacked machines. I'm just freaked about the possibility of 1) too much noise; 2) the possibility of leaks. I have ordered the super-duper leak-stopping hoses to cover the possibility of hoses bursting--about all I can do. But I'm concerned about vibration/noise. I am also new to front loaders, and people on the internet complain they sound like jet planes taking off in the high speed (1200 speed) spin. Can anyone in this situation tell me what you've done to control leaks and noise? And is the noise really so bad--worse than the 25 year old front loaders I've had in the past which bumped and groaned? Thanks so much!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Does Anyone Have a Second Floor Laundry?

I don't, but two of my sons do. One lives in an ancient house and had his installed in a big closet near the bathroom. His are front loading machines. The other lives in a five-y-o two-story they had built; his laundry room was always part of the plan. He has standard Kenmore machines- top loading washer. Both have washtubs in the rooms.

I've been in both houses many times when laundry was being done (they each have a few kids) and never heard a sound from either. Both washers sit in big rubber tubs made for the purpose, neither has ever had a leak.