Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Think I had a gall bladder attack today

Posted by tami_ohio (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 10, 11 at 20:39

Yuck! The only thing I can think of that I ate differently than usual is lettuce at lunch yesterday on my sandwich while out. For some reason, salads eaten out have not been agreeing with me. Many trips to the bathroom afterwards. Woke up this am not feeling good. DH got up later, I told him I was going to lay back down. Less than an hour later, I was in the bathroom, vomiting bright yellow. Only once, tho. Slept off and on most of the day. Stomach still a little rocky, and tired, but ok. Dr. appt tomorrow for 6 month follow up on BP and sugar, so will mention it.

Tami

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Think I had a gall bladder attack today

I'm no expert, but I've had minor gall bladder issues most of my life and thought attacks usually involve pain and are usually triggered by eating fats (even good fats). Maybe it's the salad dressing that bothers you, not the lettuce.

o

Alisande, thanks. I don't eat salad dressing. But I did have onion rings at lunch and fries at supper. They don't usually bother me. What makes me think it's the lettuce is that I've had problems after eating salad at restaruants before. There was lettuce on the lunch sandwich. Maybe it's what it's treated with when they get it, I don't know. I'm not in pain really, just "full" feeling. Only vomited once, but still rocky. I will be mentioning this to the dr tomorrow tho.

Tami

o

Gall Bladder Symptoms

Moderate to severe pain under the right side of the rib cage
Pain may radiate through to the back or to the right shoulder
Severe upper abdominal pain (biliary colic)
Nausea
Queasiness
Vomiting
Gas
Burping or belching
Attacks are often at night
Attacks often occur after overeating
Pain will often but not always follow a meal with fats or grease
Pain may be worse with deep inhalation
Attacks can last from 15 minutes to 15 hours