Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
We eloped!

Posted by sheilajoyce (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 12, 13 at 12:57

We eloped 48 years ago today. I was a teacher and finishing my master's in the summers, and my DH had recently taken a job two states away and was starting his master's. I had planned to visit him during my spring break because as a new employee, he had only one day off a week. Another employee traded him his day off, and so we married in Cincinnati with the help of a fellow employee who was a judge who waived our waiting period. We had a two day honeymoon, one day in Berea, Kentucky, and one in Lexington.

Then I returned to finish teaching that school year and then finish my degree in the summer. By that time, he had taken an even better job in Washington, D. C. We have lived in Bethesda, Md, a few months in NJ while he trained on Wall Street, Long Beach, Huntington Beach, Chicago suburbs, and back to southern California, where we are now.

We have 3 kids in their 30s now, and two darling grandsons. All of them seem to be doing well, so we count our blessings.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: We eloped!

Congratulations SheilaJoyce!

Jodi-

o

congratulations!

o

Congratulations!
A marriage of 48 years is something to be treasured!

o

A great life story. Congratulations.

o

Congrats!!

o

Congratulations!! You have been truly blessed! May those blessings continue for many more years!

o

What an exciting beginning...a rewarding 'middle'...and a happy 'ever after'! Congratulations to you both!

o

Happy Anniversary!!

o

Congratulations, and may you have many more years together.

o

Happy anniversary and thanks for sharing a sweet love story. That first year must've been hard on you both. Hope you have many, many more anniversaries.

o

CONGRATULATIONS! and Happy Anniversary. Thanks for sharing your "Love Story".

o