Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What's for dinner St. Patrick's Day?

Posted by patti43 (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 17, 13 at 17:08

Happy St. Patrick's Day everyone! It was so sunny all day, but now it's a little overcast.

Tonight for dinner we're having corned beef, colcannon, cooked carrots and mint Klondike bars (for the green color and because they're so darned good). This is my first try at colcannon, but it's very easy.

What are you having for dinner tonight?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What's for dinner St. Patrick's Day?

Marie Callender's beef pot pies. And leftover apple crumble pie.

o

I've heard of colcannon Patti, and I've meant to try it, but keep forgetting. It's cabbage and potatoes, right? How was it?

Today was a cold and sunny day. Hubby went out and shovelled the snow from under the clothes line and I hung out our sheets and towels!! Yum, smell so good!

A friend recommended Basa fish recently. I had never heard of it, and know that you are quite the fish-lover, with your tilapia. It turns out that it was on sale this week, half-price. We bought a package and I liked the look of the fillets, so we went and bought 2 more today, without even trying it. 6 frozen fillets in a bag, for $5, regular $10.

I made it tonite, heavily seasoned with my spice mix, in a skillet. Along with it we had stir-fried veggies and rice. We both loved it. I'll have to think of different ways to serve it. I'll go back on the seafood thread that we had a few weeks ago and see if something tempts me. We don't eat fish at all, even though I know it's so healthy.

o

I was going to lie and say "snake", but no, we're having chicken.

Both DH and I have a bit o' Irish in us. You?

o

Ham and cabbage.
With a box of irish potatoes for dessert.

o

No Irish fare here. Just leftovers from last night... porkchop, mashed potatoes/gravy, with peas instead of corn.

That colcannon sounds pretty good. Especially since I like both mashed potatoes AND cabbage.