Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Are you a Computer Systems Analyst?

Posted by MizAnnThrope (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 11, 13 at 9:51

If so, will you share a bit about your job? I'm thinking of switching to this as a new career in my late 40s.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Are you a Computer Systems Analyst?

Do you have a degree in computer science?

Here is a link that might be useful: job description

o

I'm a computer programmer and I don't have a degree in Computer Science. There are ways to enter the IT field without a degree in Computer Science.

o

I am a systems engineer and I don't have a degree at all. What I possess that makes me successful is general business knowledge and logical thinking.

The one thing I will warn you about computer/systems analyst positions is this - they can be offshored. You need to find a very smal market to start into the field and then work from there.

I fell into this job after many years in HR but it was a natural progression for me.

o

I was also a programmer without a college degree, but that
was eons ago. I took a test and was sent to IBM training by my
employer. There are many new and past college
grads out there with IT degrees who can't find a job even at
an entry level. You just don't walk in the door and learn
how to be a systems analyst in 6 months. It's a very high
level position.

o

IBM hired "me" right out of college...a 2 yr degree in Computer Information Technology and it was because of "WHO" I knew...not what I knew that I got hired. I should mention that they had a plant shut town, typical in the high tech industry before I got that far up the ladder....