Return to the Kitchen Table Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help! party tonight...hardboiled eggs left unrefrigerated

Posted by organic_donna (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 4, 09 at 17:31

My sister made hard boiled eggs last night and left them out on the counter all night. Today she made deviled eggs for a party tonight. I read on the internet that hard boiled eggs must be refigerated within 2 hours or they could have salmonella. I told her to throw them out. She's upset because she spent a lot of time making them. Should she serve them anyway?
Donna

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help! party tonight...hardboiled eggs left unrefrigerated

I wouldn't- better safe than sorry. Especially eggs.

o

I'd toss them!

o

Probably not. I don't know how old she is, but I've heard that in years gone by eggs were safer than they are now. Yup, better safe than sorry.

o

Eww. I'm not an expert, but I'd steer clear of them. Did she leave them out on purpose, having done so before with no problem, or was it a mistake?

Were they still in the shell when she left them or had she taken the shell off and left them out? I don't know if that matters. I guess I'd just be leary of eggs left out all night (even cooked and whole).

Did she at least refrigerate them after she stuffed them today?

Suzieque

o

Toss em. I had food poisoning ONCE, never again. I am very particular about my food. If something looks strange or smells bad, out it goes.

o

She left them out in the shell to cool overnight. She stuffed them today and then put them in the refrigerator. She's not very happy about me telling her to throw them away. She said she was going to lie down. She's going to a pot luck dinner tonight. This was her dish.
Donna

o
RE Help! party tonight...hardboiled eggs left unrefrigerated

I can understand your sister's disappointment, but I would imagine she'd feel much worse if even one person got sick. Perhaps you could print and have her read this site: