Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
purrparlor

KAW: salted caramels

annkathryn
10 years ago

I'm enjoying all of the kitchen at work threads so thought I'd post one of my own.

I've been making caramels every holiday season for many many years. Chocolate and vanilla. Last year I finally caught up to the salted craze and now I'm making Fleur de Sel Caramels exclusively. This afternoon I cooked up 3 batches and wrapped 2 of them. I love my induction cooktop and hood - I can easily regulate the temperature, and the caramels generate a lot of steam.

Ingredients. The Fleur de Sel is French sea salt, very expensive, but only takes a little per batch.

From caramels

Trusty thermometer, cream and butter waiting for the sugar and syrup to rise to 320F.

From caramels

While I cook, I cut squares of wax paper for wrapping. The cellophane bags are for orders I sell. I use paper gift bags for friends.

From caramels

After the butter and cream is added, I cook to 245F.

From caramels

First batch poured into pan lined with Parchment paper.

From caramels

I let it cool just a little then sprinkle the salt over so that it sinks into the caramels.

From caramels

Second batch on the way.

From caramels

Next batch, divided into 2 bread pans.

From caramels

Cutting the first batch.

From caramels

Wrapping caramels. The metal bowl is for 'rejects', either odd-sized pieces or pieces that have crystallized sugar which happens sometimes.

From caramels

First batch.

From caramels

Small gift bags for friends. I'll be topping these bags off with more caramels as soon as I wrap the 3rd batch. Batches 4-6 tomorrow!

From caramels

I'll link the recipe below. Even though it says not to double the recipe, I always do.

Here is a link that might be useful: This is the recipe I use

Comments (24)

• tea4all
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Yum yum! What a great gift to receive. Thanks so much for this post and the recipe too.

• tea4all
    10 years ago