Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Steam mops ion hardwoods?

Posted by phoggie (My Page) on
Tue, Dec 4, 12 at 20:54

I am wondering if you have used steam mops on hardwood floors..are they safe for them and do they work as great as the ads say they do?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Steam mops ion hardwoods?

Hi phoggie.

I think that may depend on if they are site-finished or pre-finished and even then I'd be leary. If they are pre-finished I would absolutely NOT use it for sure. The steam will get between the boards. If they are site-finished then I *think* the wood would be better protected and could handle very occasional use of it as there are no seams for the steam to penetrate but I'm not an expert.

I have a steam mop and use it on my tile only. Our wood floors are oil rubbed finish so no poly at all and there is no way I'd use it on there.

Just my 2 cents.

o

I think you will get different opinions on this for sure. I have used my steam mop a few times on my old and new hardwood. I actually don't think it cleans my hw that well. I'm going to get Bruce hardwood floor cleaner to use.

I have a friend who has beautiful pre-finished hw floors and uses a steam mop regularly for many years with no ill effects. I also think it can cause damage.

Proceed with caution.

o

The guy who did our HW, said not to use them.

o

NO! No steam on wood of any kind.

o

NO! No steam on wood of any kind.

o

I do it occasionally and never had a problem. The floor feels great afterwards. The Haan I have said safe for hw floors. Ours our oak that were finished on site.

o

My dear dad brought his over to try on our wood floors floors. It ruined the finish. : ( What an awful, sinking feeling for us both. We didn't realize it until almost the whole kitchen was done. We spent days doing an oil poly about 2 years before. It no longer gleams, it just looks icky.