Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phoggie_gw

Steam mops ion hardwoods?

phoggie
11 years ago

I am wondering if you have used steam mops on hardwood floors..are they safe for them and do they work as great as the ads say they do?

Comments (11)

• autumn.4
    11 years ago

Hi phoggie.

I think that may depend on if they are site-finished or pre-finished and even then I'd be leary. If they are pre-finished I would absolutely NOT use it for sure. The steam will get between the boards. If they are site-finished then I *think* the wood would be better protected and could handle very occasional use of it as there are no seams for the steam to penetrate but I'm not an expert.

I have a steam mop and use it on my tile only. Our wood floors are oil rubbed finish so no poly at all and there is no way I'd use it on there.

Just my 2 cents.

• debrak_2008
    11 years ago

I think you will get different opinions on this for sure. I have used my steam mop a few times on my old and new hardwood. I actually don't think it cleans my hw that well. I'm going to get Bruce hardwood floor cleaner to use.

I have a friend who has beautiful pre-finished hw floors and uses a steam mop regularly for many years with no ill effects. I also think it can cause damage.

Proceed with caution.

• Lake_Girl
    11 years ago

The guy who did our HW, said not to use them.

• GreenDesigns
    11 years ago

NO! No steam on wood of any kind.

• GreenDesigns
    11 years ago

NO! No steam on wood of any kind.

• 2LittleFishies
    11 years ago

I do it occasionally and never had a problem. The floor feels great afterwards. The Haan I have said safe for hw floors. Ours our oak that were finished on site.

• laughablemoments
    11 years ago