Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisafromvermont_gw

remodeling kitchen in 1864 post and beam house

lisafromvermont
9 years ago

we just bought an old fixer upper and want to make the kitchen layout more efficient. we are planning to take out the wall to the pantry to the left of the stove, but are at a loss as to how to make the flow work. feeling like we're stuck with a galley kitchen :( would love any input, i am not good at this!

Comments (38)

• lisafromvermont
    Original Author
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

another view

• lisafromvermont
    Original Author
    9 years ago

front door is to the right of these windows. den is to the right of that door (on the other side of the wall of oak cabinets). basement door is on the far right of this photo in pantry.

This post was edited by lisafromvermont on Mon, Dec 22, 14 at 21:10

• lisafromvermont
    Original Author
    9 years ago

view to dining room and living room from kitchen

• zorroslw1
    9 years ago

Can you sketch a floor plan of the rooms surrounding the kitchen?

• lisafromvermont
    Original Author
    9 years ago

i will try! will go there tomorrow and measure more accurately.

• lisafromvermont
    Original Author
    9 years ago

view from dining room into kitchen, small pantry at the far end of kitchen which we will open up. basement door is on the left in the pantry.

• marcolo
    9 years ago

Measure neighboring rooms also.

Why would you ever want to knock down that wall? That would do nothing for you other than creating a bizarrely shaped room. The range can't stay there anyway.

• lisafromvermont
    Original Author
    9 years ago

marcolo, we couldn't figure out how to fit all the appliances otherwise. our fridge is 4 inches wider than the current fridge, and we wanted counter space on both sides of the range (which we are replacing with a gas range). very open to other suggestions, as i'd love to keep a pantry.

• laughablemoments
    9 years ago