Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newhouse2013_gw

New House - New Kitchen - Open Floor Plan

NewHouse2013
11 years ago

What a great site! I recently found GW while researching appliances. You all are so helpful and have such great ideas.

I am looking for help with my new kitchen. I uploaded the floor plan.

Anyway... I love, love, love to cook. I am not a pro by any means, just an enthusiastic amateur. From prior experience, I know I need some powerful venting. I am a little concerned about the island range.

Any thoughts?

Comments (10)

• GreenDesigns
    11 years ago

The island is large enough to have a good zone of safety around the cooking zone, but not large enough to serve as the prep zone. Your prep zone in this layout will be the corner between your fridge and DW. And that would be fine for many people. If you want to prep and socialize with visitors at the same time, then this isn't a layout that will work for that and you'd need to move the cooking zone off of the island and put a sink there so that you'd prep facing out into the room.

Whatever you decide, I'd make the entry to the pantry in the hall adjacent so that you could extend the cabinets down all the way to that hall and move the fridge down further to make access easier from the great room. That will also give you a good place for a MW next to the fridge.

I'd personally also prefer a peninsula for some separation between the kitchen and dining room while still remaining open for the connection. I'd also prefer the cooking zone to be off of the island so that it would b easier and cheaper (and more effectively) vented to the exterior straight through the wall. Flank it with some windows to make it a focal point from the great room.

• eieio-5
    11 years ago