Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Corner-sink cabinet 36''or 42''for 33'' undermount

Posted by mbarstow (My Page) on
Mon, Dec 8, 08 at 17:52

Would anyone know the answer to this question? We are using a Silgranite 33'' single-bowl undermount sink. It will be installed in a corner cabinet. According to the Blanco site below, they indicate using a 36" base for a 33'' sink. This would give us another 6 inches to add to our other base cabinet. I certainly don't want to order the 42" if it isn't necessary. However, a granite salesperson and our KD told us we need at a minimum of 7 extra inches in a cabinet over the size of our sink. If that's true then I do need a 42" sink base and not a 36 inch. Is the measurements on the Blanco site wrong?

http://blancocanada.com/frames/BlancoStart.htm?/pages/Catalog.htm

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Corner-sink cabinet 36''or 42''for 33'' undermount

I have no experience with corner sinks but am planning a 32 inch 1 3/4 sink in my kitchen. Just to be sure the sink would fit, I did not trust my designer, who has measured everthing wrong so far( they are ordering 3/4 of the new cabinets at their expense). I have had Lowes and 3 other firms help me with this. I have been told that a 33 inch sink will fit undermount in a 42 inch cabinet if the sides are scooped. A 30 inch fits without scooped sides. This has been a consistent thought by all 4 kitchen people. Hopefully someone with a corner sink in a 42 inch cabinet will verify. G

o

A 33" sink will fit in a standard 36" sink base, not a corner sink base. We have a 15-3/4" x 15-3/4" sink in a 36" corner sink base. We might have been able to go a little bigger, but definitely not a 33" sink! The front of a 36" corner sink base, btw, is only about 17".

Our corner sink:

Imagine a sink more than twice its size and you'll see that it wouldn't fit.

Here's what it looked like before countertop.

o