Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cardinegreen

Island? Peninsula? ...or nothing?

cardinegreen
9 years ago

I am starting to have nightmares about our kitchen reno. I am a designer by trade, but cannot for the life of me come up with a design solution for my own home! Help!

We live in a 1920's colonial. The first floor has a generous sized Living room, Dining room, & Sunroom. But the kitchen in comparison is quite small, 10'-5"x17'-1". We have spent a lot of time debating what to do to update the 1960's kitchen. We played with the idea of putting on an addition, but just could not justify the cost. We thought about opening up the kitchen to the large adjacent dining room, but I could not stomach the loss of the "formal" dining room in our historic home. We finally decided we were just going to work within the existing kitchen footprint and focus on making a well-designed, compact, efficient, well-appointed space.

Well. This has proven to be difficult. The 10'-5" width of the room is SO TIGHT. We have been headed in the direction of the attached 2 images. Both with a "L" shaped kitchen, one with an island, one with a peninsula. I say the island option is way too tight. My husband says the peninsula option is "weird". We would really like to incorporate a seating area somehow, but I just can't find a good solution. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (22)

• nels1678
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago