Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rchicago

Just Getting Started

RChicago
11 years ago

Hello! I'm just beginning the kitchen planning process and thought I'd be wise to stop by for some advice.

We're closing on a house at the end of January. We're expecting our first child in early June and thus hope to move into the house no later than the end of April.

So, we'd have three months to gut remodel a kitchen and expand/remodel the master bath. We hope to use the time from now until we close to get organized - - hire an architect, hire a general contractor. The owners will give us access to the house before we close. Given our full time jobs, the coming baby, and packing, we sadly don't have time for DIY. But we are still on a budget.

To keep things reasonable and avoid delays, we're considering going with Ikea cabinets and inserts, but having custom made doors from a company like http://semihandmadedoors.com/. This way, we save money on the cabinet boxes and don't have to worry about waiting for cabinets to be made. If the doors are delayed a bit, no big deal, as they go on last, right?

With that, a few questions:

1) Are we crazy to think that we can get most of the renovations done in three months? In addition to the kitchen and bath, we have some more minor renovations planned (e.g., replacing wood paneling with drywall in the family room).

2) Any recommendations for a Chicago architect with experience with Ikea cabinets? My friend's dad is an architect and just finished their Ikea kitchen. He swears he'll never use Ikea again, not because of the quality, but because of the learning curve.

Many thanks in advance!

Comments (16)

• rosylady
    11 years ago

Question 1: Yes!!!! Yes yes yes. You are crazy:)

SInce you don't own this home and live in it currently, you don't really know the full extent of what needs to be done. Home inspections are a joke. J.O.K.E. Sorry...can you tell I'm a little bit bitter...