Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
1929spanish

OT - Cooking Question

1929Spanish
11 years ago

One of my current favorite cookbooks (The Foods &Flavors of Haute Provence) by Georgeanne Brennan has a recipe for lamb shanks and white bean gratin. I'm a pretty good cook, and have been successful with her recipes right out of the book. However, the first time I made this one, it sucked.

Not being someone who gives up easily, I want to try it again. I think the beans were the problem last time. The recipe has you start off with dry beans simmering for a couple hours. I doesn't suggest soaking them first.

Do you ever cook with dry beans before soaking them?

This post was edited by 1929Spanish on Sun, Dec 9, 12 at 19:30

Comments (15)

• springroz
    11 years ago

They take FOREVER if I don't soak them overnight! Even the " quick soak"
    has not been very successful!

LOVE lamb shanks!!

Nancy

• 1929Spanish
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks Nancy. I thought it was strange this step was left out. Im going to try soaking them first.

• User
    11 years ago

I do the quick soak and have never had a problem. It is really dependent on having very fresh dry beans...if that makes sense. The older they are the more likely that no amount of soaking will improve them. I love lamb shanks too! please post a KAW pic of the dish :) c

• sara_the_brit_z6_ct
    11 years ago

Mark Bittman of the NY Times, in "How to Cook Everything" says bring them to a boil, then leave them for two hours, and then proceed with your recipe. He claims the two hours soak after boiling as just as good as overnight soaking - and I've had great success with the method.

It's entirely possible as trailrunner says, that the beans are too old. Sometimes no amount of cooking with get them to soften up.

• 1929Spanish
    Original Author
    11 years ago

The beans might have been too old. I think they were there before we moved out during construction. I'm going to try new beans and a quick soak.