Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
serenamc_gw

Caldera gas cooktop

serenamc
16 years ago

Hi, does anyone out there have experience with Caldera gas cooktops? My husband and I will be building this year. I was considering either Thermador or DCS gas cooktops until I read about the Caldera. It sounds perfect for me but I don't know anyone who has used one and I haven't seen one other than in online pictures. Any help would be appreciated.

Comments (21)

• dannie_gal
    16 years ago

I've got a 36" propane unit that I've been using for about 3 months. I had never cooked with gas prior to this and I love my Caldera. Everything about it is very sturdy and the knobs feel hefty. My MIL and I both cooked on the Caldera without tripping on one another during the holiday (which is ordinarily a big problem, but no more in my new kitchen!).

I chose this cook top because of the good reviews from Trailrunner on this site and I'm so glad I made this purchase. I would definitely buy a Caldera again. My plumber commented on how nice the cook top is when he installed it. I don't have any experience with any other brand of gas cook top, so I'm sorry I don't have anything further that can be helpful. Good luck with your decision!

• rgillman
    16 years ago

I've ordered a 30" Caldera gas cooktop based on all the reviews here and on the appliance forum (did you ask there? quite a few people have them and that's where I first learned about them). I saw one in person and it is beautiful, but my kitchen renovation has not started yet. All I can tell you is that when you call the company, the owner picks up the phone and talks to you personally. In this day and age, worth its weight in gold.

• mtbpete
    16 years ago