Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karin_mt_2

Seeking advice: taking countertop geology to a wider audience

karin_mt
9 years ago

Hello kitchen friends,

I have such a great time here helping out with geologic kitchen mysteries and helping folks make educated decisions when shopping for a suitable countertop for their circumstances.

I am a freelance writer and educator and I'm kicking around ideas for taking this concept to a wider audience. But I'm not sure about the best way to do that (or if its worth it at all) so I am seeking your help.

I could pitch a series of articles to a kitchen magazine. However I don't know which magazines would be appropriate. Many seem to be just focused on completed kitchens with only minimal acknowledgement to all the hard work and tough decisions that go into a successful outcomes. Almost like they don't want to turn off their readers to the fact that the process can be challenging. Is there a magazine that you know of that seems like a good fit?

I could offer workshops for Countertop Geology 101. It would be the basic rock diagnostics that I usually describe here. I could imagine this being tons of fun because there are so many fun rocks to learn about. The target audience could be kitchen designers, consumers, or salespeople in slab yards. I would teach it differently to different audiences, but everyone would walk out with some firm, practical knowledge about how to identify most rocks they'll encounter in a slab yard. The caveat here is that it would require travel so the cost of the workshop would have to cover that, plus enough pay to make it worthwhile for me.

Or, there's the possibility of doing blog posts. In this case I'd want to hook up with an existing blog for a KD, stone dealer, or similar.

Sadly, I can't work for free. So whatever idea(s) I pursue need to pay for themselves. And although I know about rocks, I don't know much about the industry. So this is where I'd like to tap into the ideas that you all have.