Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dar5

What's your definition of 'Custom Cabinets'?

dar5
13 years ago

What's your definition of "Custom Cabinets"?

I realize the scope of custom cabinets will vary greatly with price. I should have asked my GC this question several months ago (but I'm new to GW) and I falsely assumed "custom cabinets" meant more than custom size and stain.

Our contract states "custom cabinets." Before signing the contract, my husband and I visited a recently completed kitchen by our GC and met with his client alone. The kitchen was gorgeous with all the extras, pull-outs, drawer organizers, etc.

Now that we are in a "disagreement" about the inferior drawer slides (three are already broken and the cabinets installation is not yet completed), and drawers (not dovetail) are screwed on sides which shows when you open them, our GC tells us on Friday that our cabinets are "STANDARD Custom Cabinets."

We are upgrading to Blum slides(based on what I've read on GW), but, it will be an upgrade which costs us $50 per drawer and there will be screw holes on the bottom where the old slides are removed.

Our GC knew we were detailed customers, especially after we went back and forth on the materials to be used for the cabinet boxes and shelves. When asked why we weren't given any options for slides or drawers before they were constructed, our GC said he never discusses those kinds of details with his clients. (wrong answer?)

Thanks in advance for your comments...

Comments (32)

• User
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

There are as many definitions of custom as their are "custom" cabinet constructors. It's a virtually meaningless term.