Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cz_scrap

Suggestions needed for best prep zone

cz_scrap
10 years ago

I posted a question about placement of refrigerator and wall oven in another thread, but am also looking for suggestions for best placement of prep zone. I'm thinking to the left of the cook top but am wondering if that's too far from the sink. I've included the layout. We are fairly far along in the permitting process in California and won't be able to make changes in plumbing(at least that's my understanding from my husband) as it would mean months to get approval.

Comments (13)

• springroz
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Switch the cooktop and DW, then use the prep sink as a prep sink. Clean up area then moves to main sink.

Nancy

• kksmama
    10 years ago

I'm not an expert, but I think you should mentally walk through how and where you'll do things in your new kitchen. I really like prepping where I can look out at people, tv, and/or a view, so I think in your kitchen I'd prep at the island and I would want a sink there.
    How wide are your aisles around the island? I love the shape, but wonder how you'll make it functional with drawers?

• GauchoGordo1993
    10 years ago

Best place for primary prep is counter between sink and cooktop, which is too small in the layout. Swapping dw and sink would make primary prep reasonable big, bit then DW is in middle of prep, which kinda sucks. So if it were me I'd go hack to the drawing board.

• lascatx
    10 years ago

Not a fan of this plan for several reasons. Can you switch the main sink and prep sin and then move the DW closer to the main sink?

Not loving the pantry/fridge/oven tangle either. I'd want a redo. Extra time spent in planning can be your best investment of both time and money.

• angela12345
    10 years ago