Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nels1678

Original 1966 Kitchen/Living Room Remodel Ideas

nels1678
9 years ago

Hi Guys,

This is my first time posting to Gardenweb, so I apologize in advance if I'm violating any posting protocol. My wife and I just bought a vintage 1966 house that has almost entirely original decor from when it was built. We decided it was probably in need of some updates, starting out with the kitchen/dining/living room!

I'm sure like many folks we've oscillated back and forth on everything from cabinet color to flooring material. I think we've decided that we want to keep things fairly light, open, and airy. There is a lot of tree cover and large eaves over the windows, so in the summer it actually is currently a fairly dark space (hoping skylights will help).

Just looking for some very general thoughts/comments right now on what we've got and what we are thinking of doing. Nothing is set in stone yet, So we have a lot of flexibility. Total space is roughly 34x25'. Kitchen is currently on the south side. North side windows overlook a nice looking pond and the view is probably worth highlighting. Roof is truss construction with 2' between trusses. Already had a structural engineer come out to verify that we can knock down walls and put skylights in-between the trusses without issue (well, maybe some slight bowing of the trusses. We already have a couple of ceiling cracks and he warned we might have to patch the ceiling after a couple of years if we remove the interior kitchen wall, but doing so is structurally fine).