Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
holiday2525

when does the floor go down???

holiday2525
12 years ago

My counter gets put in next week, I can hardly wait. My cabs are obviously already in? Should the floor does down before or After the counter? I know I need flooring under the fridge and stove, but i am using planks that can just be put there? I'm a total newbie, hence all my errors so far. When did you floors go down in your remodel?? I'm just concerned about ripping the floor when folks move stoves and dishwashers and stuff. I have learned so much at the site and everyone has been so kind with their words and advice. Thank y'all.

Comments (18)

• carybk
    12 years ago

We did floor, then cabs and appliances, then countertop. They'll have to move your stove and fridge presumably to put the floor down below them. (Not sure I understand your comment about planks.) I don't think having the counter in makes it any easier or harder to put the floor in-- perhaps a bit harder to move the stove and fridge, but that shouldn't be an issue as I understand it. Congratulations on the progress you're making.

• live_wire_oak
    12 years ago

Permanently installed floors like tile or wood should have gone in first. Now you will have height issues with the dishwasher and possibly range. If there was some reason that the floors needed to done last, like supply issues or a floating floor, then the cabinets should have been installed on plywood that is equivalent in height to the flooring that will be installed later. If your cabinets are not sitting on plywood, then you will have problems and your GC needs to uninstall the bases and reinstall them with either flooring underneath or plywood underneath.

• Emilner
    12 years ago

Yep, they should always go in before the cabinets. I would pull the base cabinets and either put plywood under them or install the floor and then put the cabinets back in.

• breezygirl
    12 years ago

Floor first, then cabs, then counters.