Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
teched_gw

Reality check--cabinet prices per linear foot?

teched
16 years ago

I just got the final layout for my cabinets, and it's fantastic. The final cost estimate--not so much. I calculated that I am being proposed nearly $500 a linear foot (yes, that's calculating uppers and lowers separately) for semi-custom cabinets. There are indeed lots of drawers, but there is very little customization, no rollouts or spice racks or anything like that, no pantry cabinets, no furniture legs or corbels or other detailing, no island. The estimate does include the crown molding, light rail, and backing for the 4-ft peninsula. It also includes panels for the DW and frig, 42 inch high uppers, dovetail drawers with full extension and blu motion, and 5-piece drawer heads. The cabinets are maple with cream paint.

I'm not a newbie--this is the 4th kitchen redo I have been involved in and I just finished 3 bathrooms. This amount per linear foot just sounds really, really high to me. I am at the point where I wonder if it wouldn't be worthwhile to pay a little more and get custom cabinets. What's been your experience? Is this a typical price per linear foot for kitchen cabinets?

Comments (43)

• glad
    16 years ago

it is so varied by the material, brand, upgrades,where you live,that it is hard to say. i paid less (about $370, I thnk), but have few drawers and other upgrades -- and thermofoil, not wood. EXPO, by the way told me to estimate $600/lf for Venecia thermofoil; I assume they assumed a lot of upgrades.

• silvia_2007
    16 years ago