Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flgargoyle

What are your shallowest drawers?

flgargoyle
11 years ago

We are going to have pretty much all drawers in our new kitchen. In our existing house, it seems like our shallowest drawers (about 5") are much deeper than they need to be. I always relate kitchen storage to tool storage (I'm a tool maker by trade). Machinist toolboxes have drawers as shallow as 1"! I'm wondering what the shallowest drawers could be in a kitchen and still be practical. I'm custom building all of my own cabinets, so I can make whatever I want. Since I won't have any upper cabinets, I need dense, organized storage.

What do you have, and how well does it work?

Comments (17)

• Tricia21
    11 years ago

We have some 3" (of useable space) in our current old kitchen and its fine for a lot of silverware, and kitchen utensils. I think 3.5 would be ideal next to stove and for silverware.

• localeater
    11 years ago

My kitchen is 95% drawers, exceptions are trash pullout, under the sink, and one other pullout. When I measured the drawers to assess the width, I measured from the bottom of the drawer box to the top of the rail. My shallowest drawer is 3 7/8", I find it very functional. It allows for a 1 cup Pyrex measuring cup to be stored upright, which makes me very happy with my baking tools drawer. Still working the kinks out in the organization of some of my drawers- LOL- that could be a life long tweaking process as I am pretty fussy.

• labbie
    11 years ago

We have mostly all drawers and will never go back.
    Our shallowest are 3.5 inches. We have two, one is our charging drawer for cell phones/tablet/Nook. The other one is our "junk" drawer, and we used inserts to organize pens, pads of papers, spare keys, twist ties, tape, etc.

One of my favorite drawers are the 5 inches, which are perfect for our ziploc containers. No more crouching and reaching blindly into a giant stacked mess of a cupboard.

• GreenDesigns
    11 years ago