Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zargunn

Opinions needed, especially pros'

zargunn
9 years ago

Hi all:

I would really appreciate objective opinions, please. Our kitchen worker in stalked pulls on cabinet drawers unevenly, either not centered by about 1/8 inch or crooked (hope you can see in the pictures). The contractor is trying to talk us into just accepting that they are not perfect.

I am a scientist and perfectionist when it comes to things like this. Imprecisions like these really irritate me, especially when I realize that the holes for pulls easily could have been done right.

My question is, do you think I am being too strict and demanding, it is it reasonable to expect the pulls to be installed with a better precision??

Thanks so much in advance!

Comments (31)

• zargunn
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here is another example

• zargunn
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And one more. Sigh

• jellytoast
    9 years ago

It would be helpful if you posted some pictures that show the entire drawer fronts. It is very hard to see if they look good or bad when you are only showing a close-up.

I, too, am very picky about details like that. Knowing this about myself, and also knowing that many (most?) people do not share these perfectionist tendencies, I elected to install my own pulls. Once those holes are drilled, you only have room for slight adjustments and I didn't want to risk what you are experiencing now.

If the drilled holes are so far off that the hardware can't be adjusted, you have good reason to complain. It is reasonable to expect that all the hardware will be installed in the same position on each drawer, and that they will all line up and be uniform. As I said, it's impossible to tell from your photos what was done.

• zargunn
    Original Author
    9 years ago