Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aptosca

Geeking out over cab construction

aptosca
10 years ago

What can I say, I'm an engineer: electrical/computer, so they don't let me around sharp stuff, but that doesn't stop me from obsessing over stuff.

I've been trying to understand different build choices cabinet makers make and see who does what.

I've looked rather closely at Starmark, Dynasty, and local custom, looking at what I can see of construction.

The custom guy I talked to I could see everything in his shop. He uses pocket holes to build the face frames and to attach the frame to the box.

I've tried to look at Starmark and Dynasty, as much as you can on an installed display.

As far as I can tell, both actually staple/glue the face frame to the box. Does this sound right? Starmark uses a lot of staples, Dynasty relatively few, but they're still there. (At least if what I think is a staple is a staple ...)

Of course, this doesn't say how the face frames themselves are constructed. I'm not sure I can see this easily on installed cabs?

What is the upper end join for face frame to box?

I gotta admit, I liked talking the custom builder (and I have a couple of more meetings set with others, as well.) I've talked to a number of KDs and they all more or less picked a line and pushed it. Being an engineer, I want to know the tradeoffs. I want them to ask questions and then to explain how they picked a vendor based on my answers. When they just pitch one brand without explanation, I can't help but wonder if they're getting paid to push them.

I wonder if I'm a PITA as a customer ... but I'm just terribly curious about everything.

Comments (48)

• katy-lou
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago