Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
threeapples

Wolf range arrived damaged, would you keep it if this happened...

threeapples
11 years ago

they offered us a $1500 discount if we keep it. I worry that, though it looks cosmetic, it might have done something to the inside of the range. My husband looked it over and said the inside seemed fine. It has a 3 year warranty. This side will be up against cabinetry. I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Comments (30)

• Donaleen Kohn
    11 years ago

can you look inside? did they tell you how it happened? it just looks like a ding on the side...

• threeapples
    Original Author
    11 years ago

They don't know how it happened. I'll see about discussing the warranty with them.

• cinderell131ogle
    11 years ago

Well, I'm a retired insurance agent, so my perspective may be different.
    Question 1- Are you content to buy a " dented and dinged sale item"?

2_ Did they look at it, or was it assessd for damage to internal parts, especially gas lines and burners.

3-Will it be added in writing on the warranty contract, that this damage is not a pre-exisitng condition, and all warranties apply as if it were undamaged?

My experience dictates that they look at it, and say don't worry, and it is not documented properly, and problems could arise. Looks like it was hit pretty hard, and who knows what else was damaged?

No, I would not accept it, even with a discount.

• rhome410
    11 years ago

Make sure it has full warranty, which I'm betting it will, and then consider: Would you have been happy to buy it from the scratch and dent area of the store in that condition for that price? Some are happy with a dented good deal and some want new and perfect. Depends on which you are, I think.

• motherof3sons
    11 years ago