Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barnhouse2010_gw

any and all ideas welcome for small kitchen re-model

barnhouse2010
12 years ago

Hi,

I am seeking any and all ideas for remodeling our small kitchen. We bought our house about a year and a half ago, and have been making small changes, but at some point we will need to tackle the kitchen- We plan on replacing all the cabinets - although it is hard to see, our main storage is a wood filing cabinet! The lighting will also need to be addressed as the current lights are floodlights sticking off from the beams. We hope to add a dishwasher and farm sink. I am going to include a couple of other pictures of the house so you can get a general idea of the look of the house. Would love to hear your ideas!

Comments (35)

• uroboros5
    12 years ago

You just need a few pendants, a glasstop stove and a better countertop!

• Linda
    12 years ago

What a neat home and an amazing view!!! I'm no expert and am kind of a "newbie" on here now, too, but I know it is helpful if you post a floorplan (of kitchen and its relationship with adjacent rooms) and measurements, etc.

• eandhl
    12 years ago

With your table so close I would do away with counter seating. To add storage I would bring it out as a straight peninsula and do cabs on both sides. I agree a farm sink would be great in your setting. I love Timber Frame! Since you have a lot of wood going on I would consider painted cabs. (i.e. gray, blue, green, red, yellow). It will let your floors and beams stand out and your kit will too. Really nice home.

• dilly_ny
    12 years ago

Could you turn your table the other way, to align with the window, and then extend your kitchen space a foot or two? Just an idea, it's hard to tell if it would fit without the measurements.

• kawh707
    12 years ago