Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
babypea102

new kitchen plan... advice/thoughts?

babypea102
11 years ago

Hi, I'm new to GW and posted my plan on the building the home forum. My kitchen is in need of work and others suggested the kitchen forum. We are coming from a condo with a very tiny kitchen so we don't know how a gourmet kitchen should be layed out and what is best for entertaining for a good flow of traffic.

My concerns on the plan -

1) seems tight with the circle table to the patio exit

2) dead space in the middle leading to the family room

3) is the island small; should it be pulled further into the nook?

4) where should the refrigerator be?

please help and thank you in advance

Comments (6)

• mrspete
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The refrigerator is much too far from the main work area.

That and, yes, you do have a good bit of wasted space between the kitchen and the family room on the "no table side".

I'd like the sink to be more centralized. The dishwasher is going to be far from the cabinets where you're going to keep your dishes. Lots of steps. I'd say switch it with the stove, but that gives you a window-issue.

Could you "turn" the kitchen one notch counter-clockwise? I mean, make the open end of the U face the sliding glass door side? That'd allow you to have the open area in front of the door . . . and you could have the table in the corner. Or, you could build in a great banquette in the corner. Yes, the door to the mudroom is a problem, but you could make the pantry a walk-through connector from the mudroom to the kitchen.

• badgergal
    11 years ago