Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marthavila_gw

Maintaining the White Marble Backsplash

marthavila
16 years ago

Ever since I saw Alku05's marvelous marble mini brick backsplash (wow, what a mouthful! :), I've been convinced that I must have one as well. Yesterday, a designer I was interviewing cautioned heavily against it, claiming it would be a PITA to keep clean from grease, food splashes, and other kitchen dirt. For those you who have had experience with white marble backsplashes, would you please care to comment? Thanks!

Comments (17)

• alku05
    16 years ago

Awe, I'm flattered! Although I must admit that I'm disappointed that the backsplash doesn't look as nice with our counters as the two samples looked together. Oh well. I sure do like both of them enough to let that slide.

We've only had our backsplash up for a couple months, but we have no issues with staining or difficulty cleaning it. And let me tell you, I am a MESSY cook. And you can't always depend on me to clean up right away. Of course it was sealed with Miracle 511 Impregnator as soon as the grout was cured.

Get a few tile samples, seal them and experiment. That way you'll know how easy or hard it will be to maintain.

• marthavila
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks, Alku05. You should be flattered! Can you tell me again where you got that tile? And, when you do clean it, what do you use? Plain soap and water? Something stronger?

• marthavila
    Original Author
    16 years ago

bump

• bill_vincent
    16 years ago

Another one who used white marble and you might want to talk to was paigect. I believe she had 3x6 white tumbled marble, although I don't think it was carrera.

• alku05
    16 years ago

Marthavila, my tile was a closeout from a travertine supplier that was discontinuing all of their marble. However, I do know that Walker Zanger sells white marble tile in their Tribeca collection.