Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karma77_gw

Help with Kitchen Cabinets

karma77
11 years ago

I am brand new to GW but have been very impressed at the quality of responses on such a wide range of topics! So I'm going to go out on a limb and ask for help.

We want to remodel our kitchen, but have a modest budget. The first couple of quotes have been above what we can afford. We would like to keep the cabinets white, (a classic frameless, raised panel look) and want good quality, solid wood cabinets, but not top of the line (approximately KraftMaid or better).

We will have some construction costs moving a microwave and oven from wall built-ins along with a cooktop off our island, into the cabinet area, and relocating our current pantry.

I'm beginning to think we need to consider RTA cabinets and find a good installer. My research brought me to GW, and so far I've seen references to at least 37 different cabinet manufacturers, and honestly, my brain is on overload. (but if I'm processing everything correctly, terms I need to look for are "semi-custom", "plywood box", "full overlay", "frameless inset hinges", "full-extension glides", and "lacquer, not painted, wood, like maple--not MDF or thermafoil")

Last night I used Lowe's kitchen design program and my rough measurements to piece together what I think will work. I'm attaching the 2D and 3D images.

I live in Houston and would greatly appreciate any advice regarding how to go about all of this, including cabinet brands to look at and/or people to work with.

Thank you!

Comments (11)

• SparklingWater
    11 years ago

You mention you live in Houston. Have you checked out Houston Cabinetry yet? Reputable owner with tons of experience in the cabinet industry. I have no affiliation with him but came across his wealth of pragmatic advise and years worth of cabinet web posts on city_ forum. If you look on the cabinet website they have great videos they made too that walk you through many processes of planning to finish.