Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mainemomof2

Kitchen cabinet advice

MaineMomof2
11 years ago

Hi I've been browsing the forums and would appreciate advice from some of you experts on my new build kitchen. I have concerns on the function and size of some cabinets.

1. To the right of the stove the designer put 4- 24"drawers. What could I store there? Doesn't seem big enough for pots and pans.

2. To the right of the fridge I have 2-12" upper that seem to be to small for anything. Should I change to 1- 24"upper?

Any input would be helpful. Thanks!

Comments (18)

• debrak_2008
    11 years ago

It's good you posted your whole house plan but can you post a close up of the kitchen? I'm not a layout expert but I think you will get more responses if people could see the plan better.

• taggie
    11 years ago

Yes, second the need to see the kitchen specifically. Can't tell any of the details from what you posted.

Quickly though, yes for sure I'd change to a single 24" upper instead of 2x12s. On the 24" drawer stack, not sure what to say. Are there pot drawers on the other side of the range? If so, a single 4-drawer 24" stack could be great for utensils, baking tools, measuring cups, etc. Are your cabs framed or frameless?

• MaineMomof2
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hopefully this is a better shot of the kitchen. Thanks, Taggie, I will change the uppers. My cabinets do have a frame(shaker style). I don't have any pot drawers just the regular base cabinets.

• deedles
    11 years ago

Agreed with 24" upper. Why on earth would a KD put 2-12's instead of 24.

I don't see the 4-24's to the right of the stove. I see 45?

• localeater
    11 years ago

I agree the 2 12" uppers should be one 24".