Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
illinigirl_gw

how offset should/could a sink/range be (back to back)?

illinigirl
10 years ago

If one and only sink is in the island, and the range is behind the sink (but not directly behind it)......how far over should the range be from that sink? Could it be 12 inches or more from the edge of the sink would start?

Comments (14)

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    10 years ago

I'm not sure I like the idea of an opposing sink and range.

• illinigirl
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Lots of people do it. Prep next to sink, turn/ pivot to range to cook. Or in the reverse fashion take hot pot of pasta off range, turn / pivot to drain at sink. My question is not if but how far. Advice?

• sherri1058
    10 years ago

I also have my only sink on the island which is almost directly opposite the range. I've never had an issue.... I find it convenient, but I am also a 1 cook kitchen.

• badgergal
    10 years ago

I have my only sink directly across from my cooktop. My aisle is 50 inches. I love the set up and have had no problems with one person being at the sink and one at the cooktop. If it was a range with an oven door being opened the person at the sink might need to step aside so off setting the sink and range would be a good idea. I don't know how many inches it should be offset though. As the always say on GW, "mock it up" and see what works for you

• sjhockeyfan325
    10 years ago

I think the dishwasher is a bigger issue than the sink. Can someone be loading/unloading the dishwasher at the same time as someone is using the range?

• illinigirl
    Original Author
    10 years ago

yes, the dw is even farther from the range than the sink. i'm looking to slide the range even farther down (away from the dw and sink). i'm not sure how far it can go before becoming inconvenient.

• illinigirl
    Original Author
    10 years ago

badgergal,
    thanks! It is range only, ovens are separate farther down the wall.

• illinigirl