Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
becks128_gw

Kitchen backsplash help!

becks128
9 years ago

We recently built a new home. I would like to do something fun and different for my kitchen backsplash. My kitchen is pretty dark so I would like it to be all white. I fell in love with this quatrefoil backsplash (I taped it up to see how it would look). The problem, no one likes it!! Am I crazy?! I think once I get the (white) grout in it will look much better and really be a Statement piece to our ho-hum kitchen. I am looking for complete honesty here! I'm by no means an interior designer, I'm a stay at home mom that needs something fun in her kitchen! Thanks everyone

Comments (13)

• bobbie2010
    9 years ago

I love that pattern, I have the same problem. No one liked it but me. I was told bust counter and busy wall but my husband. I am going to look at a creamy color, maybe that will blend in more

• funkycamper
    9 years ago

I like it! But I wonder if it's a bit too busy against the somewhat busy graining in your counter? Do people tell you what it is they don't like about it?

Maybe your fun is best put into accessories like art on walls, fun pottery for often used utensils by stove, and things like that? A simpler backsplash would allow you to have fun with those types of things which are inexpensive to change when you want something different.

• becks128
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks! I think it looks busy too but the one at the store that was grouted was way more muted and less busy looking. I'm going to another store today to see what else I can find. A cream color is a good idea!! Thanks you guys so much

• eam44
    9 years ago

The shape is fine, and the tile is monochromatic so you're on the right track. When it is grouted it will look even quieter.