Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heidigo_gw

HELP now - how high to install pendants above island??

12 years ago

Ack!! I planned to do research tonight to determine how high to mount the pendants above the island countertop, but the electrician showed up today - was supposed to be tomorrow - and wants to install pendant lights above the island. Anyone have any guidelines on how high above island countertop they should be?? Below is a pic of the island and the pendant. TIA!!

and the pendant - we are doing 3 above the island:

Comments (22)

• 12 years ago

I prefer them to be high enough that they don't block the view to the other side of the island. I am no designer, though.

• 12 years ago

I also had to learn this in a hurry, lol, for the same reason. From what I read, anywhere from 32 to 45 inches above the countertop is fine.

Although, mine got hung at 48" and they look fine. (We have a vaulted ceiling and the fixture is 4'wide.)

• 12 years ago

Typical is....oh I can't remember exactly on the spot! I think it's 30-36" off the counter. Have your electrician hold one at 30" off the counter and see how it feels. Adjust up if necessary. Make sure you take into consideration not only your view across the room with them hanging down, but how the fixture looks hung at the height you like. Some pendants are so long that if they're hung up higher to keep them out of your face, they look squatty and odd tucked up that high.

Please take some pics when they're in! Very pretty.

• 12 years ago

love your pendants. Where are they from?

• 12 years ago

Mine are set at 36" which are really too high but my kids are 6'4" and so we set them high so they wouldn't bang their heads.. If they are for task lighting I would bring them down to about 32", if they are decorative you could go higher.

• 12 years ago