Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimpossible3382

Princess Kitchen Second Thoughts

kimpossible3382
11 years ago

I've been stalking around on GW for several months and have gotten so much great advice and so many great ideas! Thank you! The hubby and I are accumulating things for a kitchen remodel we cannot afford to finish all at once right now. He's promised me the kitchen of my dreams with a few caveats.... He HATES white cabinets so we're going with shaker style in the darkest-close-to-black-while-still-brown we can find. Also, marble has been outlawed because I love to cook and bake, but I'm messy and neither of us could handle etching until it reaches the point of patina. So, I got to go with my second choice that I now dream of-- Princess White Quartzite. Our slabs are not as marble-esque as I would have originally liked and they're polished when I wanted honed, but we drove 400 miles just to see them in the one place I could find them in California, so I wasn't leaving without buying. And, they really are beautiful with lots of sparkly quartz patches, wherein lies my dilemma. We were originally going with a honed carrera marble subway backsplash and brought our sample to the granite yard, but the movement and coloration wasn't right with our Princess. The sales lady brought us to the marble tile section where Hubs and I both fell for a statuary subway that had coloration and veining almost dead-on with our slabs.... but I said no when I found out we couldn't get it ANYWHERE in a honed finish. We were then introduced to Thassos white subways, which pick up the beautiful glitter of the quartz in the Princess. I ordered the Thassos honed. My plan was to have our fabricator hone the Princess, but I kinda love it polished now since my original reason for wanting honed was to mimic marble and our stone is not marble, but beautiful in her own right. Should I have gone with polished Thassos? Both polished seems more shiny than I think I would like, but maybe it's the