Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
worldmom_gw

Our kitchen plans

worldmom
15 years ago

I don't know how to attach files yet, but hopefully this album link will work.

I am no pro at this; these are just drawings I made up on my Mac. I can't draw perspective to save my life (especially on those pesky side walls), but these, along with a lot of magazine clippings have helped our contractor understand what we're after. The funny little stick figure is my 6 foot tall hubby as a scale reference.

I posted the details in my first post, but here's a recap of what we have planned:

9.5 foot ceilings

stacked white shaker cabinets to ceiling

nickel hardware

soapstone countertops (maybe butcher block or honed marble on island)

oak floors

schoolhouse pendants

apron sink

honed carrara subway tile backsplash

stainless appliances, including Frigidaire "Twins," 36" gas cooktop, double wall ovens, built-in MW, DW

40" cabinet/serving area open to kitchen and dining room side

Along with the drawings, there is a floor plan showing where the kitchen, pantry/laundry and dining room are in relation to each other. I also included a picture of the front of our house so you can see where these spaces are. The box window on the left is the dining room, and to the left of that (the single window) is the office (on the blueprints as the "sewing room") that will become the pantry/laundry room.

Here is a link that might be useful: kitchen plans

Comments (5)

• rhome410
    15 years ago

You did very well with your drawings, and, for the most part, I love the look and like the ideas very much.

A couple thoughts:

1) Prep sink: To me, the prep sink isn't located well for use from the stove. For prepping and as a place to fill and drain pots, it's quite a trip. Do you not plan on using it for those purposes?