Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annamastro

Kitchen Layout help

annamastro
10 years ago

Hello. I'm new to GW but I have read/used your advice on more than one occasion!

We're in the middle of a long, huge remodel/addition. We added a 30x30 addition to a 1500 sq ft Cape Cod style home. It began in 2010 with the replacement of the entire block foundation. The second floor was finally finished this summer. The first floor is now finally getting wired. The addition includes space for my new kitchen; the old kitchen/dining room will now be a large dining area used for everyday and holidays. I've attached the Home Depot layout.

I would love ANY advice that you can give me. Nothing has been ordered so anything can be changed (to a degree :-)

The island measurements are approx. 54x54.

I specifically would like to know where you would add a prep sink in this kitchen. Also, if you think the fridge is in a bad spot near that entry from the next room. I do not want a counter depth fridge. I need as much space as possible.

The peninsula will have seating in the other room. The other room will be a family room to the far left of the kitchen. The area just outside the kitchen, where the peninsula seating will be, is a large open area that contains a French door to the covered deck. I'm not sure what will go in this area yet. A table for homework? Two easy chairs and a table between?

There is a separate pantry off of my laundry area which is located behind the wall where the cooktop/corner cabinets are.

We are a family of seven. I've trained my kids to prep, cook, and clean up so there are often 2 or 3 of us in the kitchen at once. :-)

Thank you so much for any advice!

Comments (15)

• Kathy Rivera
    10 years ago

#1) YES on the prep sink. If you have the trained sous chefs (nice job!), make it easy for them to work! :) I'm not sure where would be the best spot...I feel like the stove side is probably better - bottom right corner as I'm looking at the picture.